‹ Return to Current Obituaries
Send FlowersHand delivered by a local florist
Send a Sympathy Card
Plant Memorial Trees

Visitation

Gard Funeral Home & Cremation Services - Eaton
Friday January 7th, 2022
10:00am - 11:00am

View Details

Funeral Service

Gard Funeral Home & Cremation Services - Eaton
Friday January 7th, 2022
11:00am

View Details

Burial

Arlington Cemetery
Friday January 7th, 2022

View Details

Order Flowers now for guaranteed delivery before Avis's visitation.


Avis W. Hundley

Avis W. Hundley, age 100, of Eldorado, OH passed away on Sunday, January 2, 2022 at Optimized Senior Living in Lebanon, OH. He was born October 19, 1921 in Brookville, OH to the late Frank and Oda Vera Hundley. He was a member of the Masonic Lodge #80 in Lewisburg, OH where he served as past master; he also served as a high priest of the Palmera Chapter #235; he was a member of the Scottish Rite, Dayton, OH; was a member of the United Methodist Church in West Manchester, OH; he retired from Black Electric as an electrician; and was a longtime Preble County farmer. In addition to his parents, he was preceded in death by his wife Ida Hundley; brothers Willis, Robert, James and Virgil Hundley; sister Virginia Grieves; and special companion Sarah Masters. He is survived by his sons Robert (Terrie) Hundley of Lebanon, OH and William (Joani) Hundley of Eldorado, OH; daughter Karen McClincey of Alburtis, PA; grandchildren Stephanie (Chris) Theobald, Shannon Corrill, Jennifer (Jerry) Brockman, Danielle (Donald) Lunsford, Todd McClincey, Lisa (Tim) Shankweiler, Brian (Sneha) McClincey; 11 great grandchildren; 4 great great grandchildren; and numerous nieces and nephews. Visitation will be held on Friday, January 7, 2022 from 10:00 am until time of funeral service at 11:00 am at Gard Funeral Home, 226 W. Main Street, Eaton, OH with Pastor Terry Campbell officiating. Burial will follow at Arlington Cemetery in Brookville, OH. In lieu of flowers memorial contributions may be made to the West Manchester United Methodist Church, PO Box 34, West Manchester, OH 45382 or Resurrection Lutheran Church, 1270 N. Broadway St., Lebanon, OH 45036. Online condolences and other remembrances may be sent to the family by visiting www.gardfuneralhome.com.


To plant memorial trees or send flowers to the family in memory of Avis Hundley, please visit our flower store.



Guestbook

We will all miss this special man . I always enjoyed talking with him at the Monroe Alumni Each year. And at Church . Condolence to the family.

Sandra Duke Jan 11 2022 9:27 AM

Oh, I sure enjoyed chatting with Avis when he came to visit Resurrection Lutheran Church with Bob and Terrie some years back! He always had a big smile and something lighthearted to say with a bit of a wink in his eye. Such a nice man. Pastor Fred and I are remembering Mr. Hundley with fondness and thinking of the family at this time of honoring his long life.

Leslie Cook Jan 7 2022 10:20 AM

Avis was very good Christain man. Loved to hear him sing on Sunday mornings. So very many fond memories of him.

Lorna Joy Smith Jan 7 2022 8:47 AM

Fond memories of Avis & Ida at Sunset Lanes during my childhood. And Ida was in my Dad's 1940 Lewisburg Union High School class. A great couple! Thoughts and Prayers from the Kouts Family

Dennis Kouts Jan 6 2022 10:27 PM

Very sorry to hear of Avis' passing. He was a leader in the church I attended while growing up and always was such a nice man. My condolences to his family and friends.

Melanie Bright Jan 6 2022 2:02 AM

I remember Avis well from my boyhood days. He was a kind and jovial person. We both attended the same church, and he was my Sunday School teacher for a few years. His daughter, Karen, and I also attended church together, as well as Monroe School. I hope Karen is doing well. I noticed that she is on Facebook.
You have my deepest sympathies.

Terry McGriff Jan 5 2022 2:56 PM

Thinking of you all with love. Martha (Robert) Hundley, Susan and sons Keith/ Brian, Daryl and daughter Madison.

Martha Hundley and Daryl Hundley Jan 4 2022 5:56 PM

So sorry to hear of the passing of Avis. Such a nice man. Haven't seen him for quite some time. Went to church with him for many years in West Manchester. Prayers for the family.

Vicki Hoff Jan 4 2022 12:03 PM

Karen sorry for your loss. You take care.

Mary Jane Brookshire Allen. Jan 4 2022 10:11 AM

Avis was one of my favorite people. He will be missed.

Pastor Dave Justis Jan 3 2022 5:44 PM